4 thoughts on “A look back at the Senators, the D.C. baseball team who last hosted a World Series

  1. πŸŽ…Lets Go Nationals
    Beat The Astros ⚾

  2. Ted Williams became manager in 1969 and led the club to an 86-76 record, the first winning record in forever. In was an exciting summer in DC that year. The reason Williams couldn't repeat his success was owner Bob Short's plot to trade all of his good players for essentially nothing, making it a terrible team, which kept fans away, which allowed him to plead poverty and move to Texas, what he wanted for his first day as owner in 1968. In 1971, Short traded a Gold Glove quality shortstop (Brinkman), the starting 3rd baseman who was an excellent defender and hit 19 homers, and their best pitcher who won 20 games for the Tigers two years later. In return, they got Denny McLain, a drunk, who had been suspended from baseball for gambling, and though only three years removed from his Cy Young season, was no longer a major league pitcher.

  3. The first Washington Senators were also called the Nationals, too. From 1905 until 1956, the team used both names simultaneously. It wasn’t until a new logo created by Zang Auerbach, the man behind the iconic Boston Celtics logo, that they became the Senators full time.

    As a matter of fact, this newspaper’s headline from when the Senators won 1924 World Series reads: β€œ[Walter] Johnson Is [A] Hero As Nationals Win Decisive Game Of World Series, 4-3…”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *