Catcher gives away a run. Steals home at LLWS. Coach confused.


Catchers can give up runs due to passed balls. This catcher invented a whole new way to give
the other team a run. Coming up next. The video we’re going to show ends link
this… A confused coach respectfully making an argument with the umpire. Find out what led to this and stay to the
end of this video to learn what this coach is arguing and why he is so very wrong. A passed ball is any pitch that the catcher
should have reasonably been able to catch, but instead the ball ends up getting passed
him and as a result a runner advances. This is a type of catcher error, although
it doesn’t get scored as an E2, but rather a passed ball. A wild pitch is any pitch the catcher can
not reasonably catch and as a result a runner advances a base. This is a type of pitcher’s error but it
doesn’t get scored as an E1, bur rather a wild pitch. Any ball that hits the dirt before reaching
the catcher’s mitt is considered a wild pitch no matter what. When baseball fans think of stealing home, it’s typically a straight steal either on the throw back to the pitcher, … or stealing
home when the pitcher is in the wind up and rather slow to deliver. The catcher we are about to show you came
up with an inventive way to give up a run. Watch what transpired. The play appears to be over. The catcher walks to his dugout to talk with
his coach about something which leaves home plate open and gives a clear opportunity to
score. Seeing the 3rd base coach in this shot makes
me wonder if this was a habit they noticed with this team and they were waiting for the
right opportunity. Either way, the alert runner on 3rd took the
run that the catcher gave them. The coach likely thought that in Little League,
once the pitcher has the ball and is on the pitcher’s plate then runners can no longer
advance. If that’s his issue, then he failed to read
the rules. We have a few videos on that rule you can
watch, but in short, Little League runners can advance anytime they want when the ball
is live until the pitcher has the ball on the pitcher’s plate AND the catcher is in
the catcher’s box ready to receive. Absent those two conditions, runners are free
to go. One other option is that In baseball, and
for the record softball rules are different, but in baseball the play is not over … ever. If the ball is live, then anything can still
happen, and umpires in baseball should NOT call time without a compelling reason AND
never until all play is over. So this coach may have thought time should
have been called because all activity on the bases with the last play ended. But that is not how baseball operates. Time is never called between every play on
the field until 1) a player or coach requests time and it is granted. 2) some compelling reason. NEVER assume play is dead until you hear the
umpire declare time and put both or one hand in the air signaling time has been called. Check out this other video of another runner stealing home an inattentive catcher and pitcher.

3 thoughts on “Catcher gives away a run. Steals home at LLWS. Coach confused.

  1. That's weird because I was attending a babe ruth tournament in Medford a couple of years ago and the umpire was calling all pitches that bounced in front of the plate a strike.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *