Crazy baseball rules – Wait…what? Foul tip AND Foul ball?

What is the difference between a foul tip
and foul ball? How would you rule on this play, and why? Was this one a foul ball or foul tip? The answer is, “Foul Ball” I’ll explain
why after these next two clips. Here is another example. Would this one be a Foul Ball or Foul Tip? The answer? Foul Tip. But wait, weren’t they both the same thing? Before we answer that, here is one more uploaded
by “Close Call Sports.” Again Yadi Molina, and the umpire explaining
it to the manager. So the umpire said that in Molina’s case
the ball did hit the glove first, then was caught in the leg. Let’s go back to our LLWS example. Notice the umpire comes out and singles to
his two corner umpires. The third base umpire is adamant “It’s
down It’s down. It went off the body first”. You can hear this in the video. Here is the pertinent rule. A FOUL TIP is a batted ball that goes sharp
and direct from the bat to the catcher’s hands and is legally caught. It is not a foul tip unless caught and any
foul tip that is caught is a strike, and the ball is in play. It is not a catch if it is a rebound, unless
the ball has first touched the catcher’s glove or hand. A foul tip requires the batted ball:
a) Go sharply and directly from the bat to the catcher’s hands;
b) Touch the catcher’s hands, mitt or glove; c) Be legally caught. Without all criteria satisfied, it becomes
a foul ball.

28 thoughts on “Crazy baseball rules – Wait…what? Foul tip AND Foul ball?

  1. This seemed clear because you aren't allowed to use anything other than your glove, but I still found this video extremely interesting.

  2. To be a foul tip the ball must hit before the glove, then the body and then the glove or the hand to do a legal catch. Instead, if the ball don't touch before the glove and touch directly the body or any other equipment, is a foul ball

  3. Good explanation of the rule, I still see a lot of people confused between a foul ball and a foul tip and I always have to give a mini rule clinic to explain to coaches.

  4. Here We Go Boys! That's our beloved Christopher Rutz on 3b making that great call. Atta babe Chris! Thanks for featuring this call MJH.

  5. It doesn’t touch the glove in either clip. It never hits STL catchers mitt. So it’s just as confusing as before.

  6. I understand that yes it was a foul ball but he still caught it therefore it is an out right? If you catch a foul ball he is out

  7. Easy, I'm an umpire. It's a foul tip if it is a sharp direct hit of the glove of the catcher then is caught legally.

  8. Weird rule. I'd personally change it so that, as long as it doesn't hit the ground, umpire, part of the stadium, or batter himself, it's an out if the catcher controls it and it doesn't fall to the ground. But that's just me.

  9. Sure looks to me like the LL example shows the ball clips the catcher's mitt first. It seems to change direction down just as it gets to the glove. You can really see this in the slo-mo replay. I agree with the announcer (is that Orel Hershiser?) that it was a foul tip.

  10. So per your statement of the rule, the ruling on the play with the kid was a foul ball. Got it. Since it was a foul ball, and it never touched the ground, that means it was caught. Why wasn't the batter out regardless of how many strikes there were?

  11. This happened fairly often in baseball growing up. I've never seen it called a foul ball and have never seen anyone argue for this ruling. It's crazy how few people know this rule (me included until now)

  12. Totally agree with the rule. However in the video clips, in the Little League clip it sure looked like it went off the catcher's glove first and then wedged in his body. By definition, foul tip. In the MLB clip, it looks like it missed the glove entirely, so should have been a foul ball.

  13. Here is the rule per
    A foul tip is a batted ball that goes sharply and directly to the catcher's hand or glove and is legally caught. A foul tip is considered equivalent to a ball in which the batter swings and misses, in that the baserunners are able to advance at their own risk (without needing to tag up). Should the batter produce a foul tip after previously accruing two strikes, the foul tip is considered strike three and the batter is out.

  14. But if it's a foul ball, why isn't it an automatic out? If the ball was hit in the air and then caught like that in foul territory, that's considered a catch and therefore out, right? I understand the foul tip vs. foul ball, but why isn't that an out? Thanks.

    Edit: Scrolled down and found another comment like this and understand now, thank you!

  15. And people want to replace umpires with computers? I doubt you could reliably get a computer to rule this correctly.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *