Maxwell blitz gives Australia T20I series | Daily Cricket News

Hello and welcome to ESPNCricinfo Dailies,
I am Nikhil Naz Our top stories from the world of cricket today are Glenn Maxwell powers Australia to T20I series win over India England gain an unassailable lead over West Indies, Chris Gayle crosses the 10,000-run ODI benchmark, Kane Richardson out of India tour with injury and MCC to recognise women’s achievements on honours board at Lord’s.” Glenn Maxwell lit up the Chinnaswamy stadium in Bengaluru with an unbeaten 113 from 55 balls as Australia beat India by seven wickets
to clinch the T20I series 2-0. Chasing 191 to win, Australia were in a spot of bother at 22 for 2 before Maxwell put on 73 runs with D’Arcy Short to steady the innings. He then shared an unbeaten 99 run stand with Peter Handscomb to guide Australia to their first bilateral T20I series win against India. The two sides will now face each other in a five match ODI series that gets underway on March 2nd. England beat West Indies by 29 runs in the 4th ODI and gained an unassailable lead in the 5-match ODI series. Put into bat first, England started their innings with a 100-run partnership for the 1st wicket and then were assisted by Eoin Morgan & Jos Buttler’s 204-run partnership for the 4th wicket to post a massive total of 418 on the board. Despite of Chris Gayle’s quickfire 97-ball 162, the hosts failed to capitalise on the start that the openers recorded and fell prey to Adil Rashid & Mark Wood as the former was the pick of the bowlers with a crucial 5-for. West Indies allrounder Carlos Brathwaite also scored his maiden ODI half-century and combined with Ashley Nurse for an 88-run 8th wicket stand. West Indies opener Chris Gayle scored a 97-ball 162 in a losing cause for his country, however, the batsman reached a personal benchmark of his own. Gayle’s quickfire innings helped him become the 14th player to cross 10,000 runs in ODIs, with Gayle achieving this feat in 288 matches. Out of the 14 players that have crossed the 10,000 run mark, Gayle is the 8th fastest and achieved this feat faster than the likes of Rahul Dravid & Tilakaratne Dilshan. Players such as Virat Kohli, SachinTendulkar, Ricky Ponting & MS Dhoni have all reached the 10,000-run mark faster than Chris Gayle. Australia fast bowler Kane Richardson has been ruled out of the ongoing India tour after failing to recover from an injury sustained at training ahead of the T20I series. Western Australia’s Andrew Tye will replace him for the forthcoming ODI leg of the tour. Richardson is understood to have picked up the injury while batting in the nets in Hyderabad, where Australia trained before the first T20I in Visakhapatnam. Richardson, who has taken 13 of his 27 ODI wickets against India, was on a comeback trail following a successful BBL season, where he topped the bowling charts with 24 wickets in 14 games for title-winners Melbourne Renegades. Women will now figure on the iconic Lord’s honour board following the 135-year-old Marylebone Cricket Club’s decision to recognise centuries and five-wicket hauls in ODI cricket. Previously, only centuries and five-wicket hauls in Test matches found a mention on the boards at the home and away dressing rooms at Lord’s. The new addition means that Ricky Ponting, Muttiah Muralitharan and Michael Atherton are among those who now feature on the board for their achievements in ODIs. Sarah Taylor, Claire Taylor and Anya Shrubsole are among the England women to have their names on the board.

9 thoughts on “Maxwell blitz gives Australia T20I series | Daily Cricket News

  1. england lead 2-1 against WI not 3-1 like you guys have said. Seriously who edited checks these videos before they are uploaded??

  2. I don't like the ease in which batsmen can score in O.D.I., pitches need to have conditions that are more favourable to bowlers. Additionally, field restrictions must go to assist bowlers. I don't enjoy watching a slog fest or games in which there is no contest between bat and ball.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *