Rating the 10 best captains in IPL history

top ten successful captains in IPL
history the Indian Premier League IPL is all set to come back for its 13th
edition from March 29 the cash-rich tournament is renowned as
the best t20 league in the world due to the involvement of the star cricketers
around the globe and for its high-octane competition over the years various
captain’s have taken up the responsibility of taking their team
through to the business end of the competition some have been able to
achieve the expectations from the franchise and some have failed miserably
succumbing to pressure here we look at the top 10 captain’s in the 12-year
history of IPL welcome to our channel make sure to subscribe for all latest
videos 10 David Warner David Warner’s breakthrough season of the IPL as a
captain was back in 2016 where he guided the Sunrisers Hyderabad to their maiden
title Warren are impressed with his captaincy skills which transcended into
his batting form in the season of 2016 scoring the second most runs after Virat
Kohli’s 900-plus tally Warner holds an imperious record of 26 wins in the 47
games he has captained his side with a win percentage of 55 point 3 1 with
question marks on Cain williamson’s Fitness Warner is set to lead the
Sunrisers again after the infamous sandpaper gate 9 Steve Smith another victim of
sandpaper gate who lost his captaincy in franchise cricket Steve Smith boasts a
WI n percent record of 67 point 8 5 in the tournament
Smith captained the rising pupa Giants in the 2017 edition and took the site
into the finals of the tournament with his 49:51 in testing conditions Smith
almost took his site across the finishing line but fell heartbreakingly
close losing to Mumbai Indians by just one run
albeit Smith only captained the site in 29 games in IPL cricket but ended up on
the winning side on 18 occasions with only 9 losses to his name yet again
Rajasthan Royals will be placing their bets on the former Australian skipper
this season with the powerful English contingent in the site as well as a
formidable group of Indian youngsters at his disposal eight sachin tendulkar the maestro of
batting sachin tendulkar managed to erase his forgetful captaincy record at
the international level with his stint as a captain of mumbai indians in the 51
games as captain Tendulkar managed to pull Mumbai Indians on the winning side
on 30 occasions with a win percentage of 58.82 before passing on the captaincy
baton to Rohit Sharma seven view injures ciwec former captain
of the Delhi Daredevils in King’s I Punjab
Virender Sehwag led his sight on 53 occasions out of which his team went on
to win 28 times although he could not take his side to the semi-finals barring
the memorable 2012 season where they topped the group so AG has a wim percent
of fifty three point seven seven six shane warne The Wizard of spin Shane
Warne brought life to the inaugural edition of the IPL juggling through his
dual role of captain and coach for the Rajasthan Royals the Royals termed as
the underdogs amongst the other star-studded teams managed to clinch the
first IPL trophy in 2008 against all the odds in the 55 matches Warren captain
the Jaipur based franchise Royals managed to be on the winning side on 30
occasions Royals are yet to win their second title since the inaugural edition
of IPL five Adam Gilchrist captaining the
Deccan Chargers Adam Gilchrist brought home the IPL title during the 2009
season held in South Africa Gilchrist who then captained the Kings I
Punjab later in his IPL career holds a moderate wim percent of forty seven
point two nine in the 74 matches he led his franchise Gilchrist ended up on the
winning side in 35 matches and 39 losses to his name for Viereck Kohli Virat Kohli is the
only player to have featured for a single franchise throughout his IPL
career handed over the captaincy at a relatively young age Coley has captained
the Royal Challengers Bangalore in 110 games however the RCB skipper has tasted
defeat more often than not with his tally of 49 wins and 55 loss and wim
percent of forty seven point one six furthermore RCB is the only team after
kxi P and Delhi capitals to not have won the IPL trophy ever despite being part
of all editions since its inception three Gautam Gambhir after playing for
Delhi capitals during the initial years godom Gambhir found his mojo as a
captain while leading the Kolkata Knight Riders
he was hugely respected by the owners as well
the cricketing fraternity witnessed cambers captaincy browses when the
Knight Riders won the 2012 and 2014 edition of the tournament further
Gambhir holds a prestigious record of leading his sight on 129 occasions and
getting his side home on 71 of those games
gamblers WI n % of 55.4 – makes him one of the best leaders of IPL ever – Rohit Sharma Rohit Sharma brought only
laurels to Mumbai Indians after he was named as the captain of the site the
wonkin based franchise went on to clinch three titles under his captaincy in 2015
2017 and 2019 after spending initial years under Deccan Chargers Sharma took
over as captain of mi from legendary Tendulkar
ro hits record speaks volumes of his leadership abilities many claimed his
stint as mi captain acted as a catalyst to his success at the international
level hitman captained his team to victory 60
times out of the 100 for games with a staggering wim percent of 50 8.65 this
makes him easily one of the best IPL captains of all time one ms dhoni
the Indian Premier League IPL arguably has never seen a better captain
than followed MS Dhoni the talismanic indian wicketkeeper batsman has many
international trophies to his name but the seasoned campaigner also has three
IPL trophies in his silverware cabinet MS Dhoni Chennai Super Kings went on to
win the editions of 2010-2011 and the emotional 2018 campaign where CSK came
back after a two-year hiatus MSD also led the rising fewn supergiant’s during
cs k’s absence from the IPL with a prestigious 60% win record ms d helped
his side win on a whopping 104 occasions out of the 174 games he led the side
during the post match presentations Dhoni only appeared 69 times as a losing
captain in those matches

2 thoughts on “Rating the 10 best captains in IPL history

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *